Lodging and Meals

Where to Eat and Stay

For more information on Hatteras Island or Manteo, including more places to stay, eat, etc., please check out www.outerbanks.org , www.hatterasguide.com , or www.outerbankschamber.com .  The website for the Cape Hatteras National Seashore is www.nps.gov/caha 

Hatteras Trips

Lodging – In Hatteras Village, try the Breakwater Inn (formerly Hatteras Harbor Motel) – (252) 986-2565 www.breakwaterresort.com (-please mention you are going offshore with us), Village Motel (252) 986-2522 www.villagemarinahatteras.com , or the Villas of Hatteras Landing – (252) 986-1110 http://villasofhatteras.com/ for suites with full kitchens right at the dock.   In Buxton, about ten miles from the dock, we recommend the Cape Pines Motel www.capepinesmotel.com .  Call (252) 995-5666 to make a reservation. Be sure to mention that you are going on our pelagic trip. Other motels in Buxton include the Cape Hatteras Motel – (252) 995-5611 www.capehatterasmotel.com , the Hatteras Island Inn – (252) 995-6100 http://hatterasislandinn.com/ , the Lighthouse View Motel – (252) 995-5680 www.lighthouseview.com , and the Outer Banks Motel – (252) 995-5601 www.outerbanksmotel.com .  

Rental Houses – If you have a group coming down you might want to consider renting a house instead of staying in a hotel or motel, sometimes even if you do not use it for an entire week, it turns out to be more affordable & you have a kitchen!  A few places to try are Outer Beaches Realty www.outerbeaches.com , Midgett Realty www.midgettrealty.com , Hatteras Realty www.hatterasrealty.com , or Dolphin Realty www.dolphin-realty.com

Campgrounds – Be advised that camping during the summer and fall on Hatteras Island can be a hot, humid, and insect infested experience.  Nevertheless, there is often a land breeze during the summer evenings.  The National Park Service Campground in Frisco (first come, first serve basis…) is on a large dune with a nice view of the ocean, facing the prevailing southwesterly wind www.nps.gov/caha/planyourvisit/campgrounds.htm .  There are also a number of private campgrounds nearby.  Privately owned: Frisco Woods Campground (Frisco) (252) 995-5208 www.outer-banks.com/friscowoods/  

Breakfast Harbor Deli at Hatteras Harbor Marina (252) 986-2500 should be open at 5:00am – just not on Sundays – if you call or stop in the day before your trip, you can place an order to pick up in the morning, or you may have enough time to get something the morning of the trip.  Scratchmade Snackery in Hatteras should be open for our spring and summer trips and they have muffins & pastries.  Oden’s Dock and Teach’s Lair Marina also have dock stores that open at 0500 for coffee and pre-made sandwiches / breakfast – see next paragraph for directions.  

In the meantime, for fall and winter trips you’ll have to plan ahead, but hot coffee should be available at Oden’s Dock and Teach’s Lair Marina in Hatteras beginning around 0500.  To get to Oden’s, don’t take the shortcut at the Hatterasman, but keep straight ahead.   The dock store is behind the Breakwater Inn.  Teach’s Lair is on the right side of HWY 12 just before you get to Hatteras Landing, where we are docked.  The deli at Hatteras Harbor Marina may also be open for our fall trips, they are on the right side of Hwy 12 between Oden’s & Teach’s Lair.  Check the day before to see if they will be open the day of your trip!

Wanchese Trips

Lodging – For economy and convenience, try the Duke of Dare Motor Lodge – (252) 473-2175 (no website) in Manteo, or, alternately, the Dare Haven Motel – (252) 473-2322 www.darehaven.com . Both of these places are recommended for economy and convenience. For more upscale accommodations in Manteo, try the Scarborough Inn (252) 473-3979 http://www.scarborough-inn.com/ and in Nags Head, try the First Colony Inn (252) 441-2343 www.nagsheadinn.com .

Breakfast – 7 Eleven, on US 64 Business in Manteo is open before the trips. If you are coming from the beach, there is also a 7-11 near Whalebone Junction in Nags Head.  At this time we are unaware of any restaurants open early enough for us.